There’s an app for that

19 Oct

Applications have effectively taken over our digital experience. Arbitrary lists of the “best” applications for Web or smartphones can be found across the Web for every conceivable interest—from running to gardening to parenting. In addition to their benefits, however, these apps (or our dependence on them) can also have definite consequences. One man says he impregnated his wife after he lost his iPod, which held an app that helped him keep track of her cycle. Another app, the Ugly Meter, has been reproached for providing easy fodder for cyberbullies. But as Facebook recently discovered when a security leak was exposed  that allowed third party applications to leak users’ personal information, apps add an extra level of consideration to online security and privacy. No one can deny that apps can be fun and useful, but it’s important to weigh the pros and cons of any new technology before jumping on board—even an identity protection app.

2 Responses to “There’s an app for that”

  1. wanderinghopeful October 19, 2010 at 11:53 pm #

    There are apps for everything! As a Droid user, I have 76 different apps on my phone from games to pass the time while waiting in line to music stations to turn my phone into my mp3 player. Out of all of the apps on my phone, my hands down favorite app is my navigation system. In one click, my phone magically turns into a GPS. The convenience of having my interests literally at my fingertips is revolutionary, however it comes with costs. All of the applications that I download on my phone ask what parts of my phone it must access in order to download fully. Will allowing applications to access certain information from cause a security leak? Is having this convenience at my fingertips really worth personal informational possibly being leaked? I guess I’ll just have to weigh my options.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention There’s an app for that « What's Up in New Media -- Topsy.com - October 19, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Austin Wiebe, Austin Wiebe. Austin Wiebe said: New media blog post and new poll: There's an app for that! http://wp.me/p17Kyp-H […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

